Telephone: 01642 462255 | Email:

LGV/HGV Driving Licence Categories

Category C1 - Minimum age: 18

LGV Category C1

These are vehicles that weigh more than 3.5 tonnes but do not exceed 7.5 tonnes (G.V.W.). A trailer may be towed provided it does not exceed 750kg Gross Vehicle Weight (G.V.W.). If you passed your car test before 1997, you will have gained C1 automatically. Passing your car test after 1st January 1997 will limit you to a maximum weight of 3.5 tonnes.


Category C - Minimum age 18

LGV Category C

Category C is required to drive vehicles weighing over 7.5 tonnes and not exceeding 32 tonnes. Category C, (known formerly as Class 2) is best described as a rigid vehicle, meaning the cab and trailer are permanently fixed together. Without Category +E entitlement, any trailer being towed must not exceed 750kg (G.V.W.). If you want to hold the C+E licence, you must first acquire the Category C licence.


Category C+E - Minimum age 18

LGV Category C+E

If you want to drive articulated or draw bar type vehicles, then you must gain Category C+E. The letter 'E' represents trailer entitlement. Having Category C+E (formerly known as Class 1) means you can drive any type of Large Goods Vehicle. Also Passing the Category C+E practical test will retrospectively give you Category B+E and Category C1+E entitlements.


B + E Licence Training

B+E Trailer Towing Licence


A B+E Licence is required to tow a large trailer behind a motor vehicle. »Read more »


Plant Training Courses

Plant Training Courses Teesside North East

Wide range of construction plant training courses available. »Read more »